Library Haul – Week of 1/25/17

 Curious George’s ABCs illustrated by H. A. Rey

The Three Little Pigs by Paul Galdone

Curious George Goes Camping by Margret and H. A. Rey

Curious George at the Fire Station by Margret and H. A. Rey

My Name Is Elmo by Constance Allen

Happy Valentine’s Day, Mouse! by Laura Numeroff and Felicia Bond

Elmer and Butterfly by David McKee

Curious George’s ABCs and My Name is Elmo are constantly at our house. Haha

We got more Curious George this week, of course. I’m excited that she is starting to listen to longer books. I’ve been looking for new books each week that are longer and have new concepts, but aren’t so wordy that she loses interest. It seems best right now if there is a sentence or three per page and then we get to flip to a new picture.

I had to get the Three Little Pigs, of course, after it occurred to me that she hadn’t heard that story yet! We have several copies of Goldilocks and the Three Bears, but not this one.

I also try to get a few books that are themed around upcoming holidays or seasons or things we are learning about. Happy Valentine’s Day, Mouse! was not as much like the other “If You Give a Mouse a Cookie” books as I was expecting, but it was still enjoyable. Not one of her favorites, but I liked to read it to her all the same.

Another book she didn’t show a lot of interest in was Elmer and Butterfly. I remember the Elmer books from my childhood but I can’t remember which ones I’ve read. I thought the book was really cute, as the butterfly in the story showed that you’re never too little to help out somehow. Maybe later in the future we’ll try another one!

Leave a Reply

