Book Review – The Behemoth Dinosaur in the Land of Uz by Maryluz Guerrera Salas

image

This children’s book from WestBow Press is about a behemoth named Dippy and a little boy named Job. The idea comes roughly from the book of Job, but does not follow the Bible verses. The story of Noah is also told, but otherwise there isn’t really a biblical message.

I found the book hard to follow, even for a children’s book. I would say it is probably a preschool level story because of how wordy it is. The continuity made it difficult for me to figure out exactly what it is trying to teach, because it skips in a couple places to different locations with no warning. First Job and Dippy are at the well getting water, and then they’re in town and the people are trying to run Dippy off. Even as an adult I found it rather confusing. The illustrations are also subpar, unfortunately. Additionally, I found that the English translation had several grammatical errors and was oddly worded in some places.

Overall, I would have to give this book one star. It could have been a cute concept, but I found it poorly done.

*****

I received this book for free (as an eBook) from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinions here are my own.

Leave a Reply

